Every year two awards are presented at the winter meeting of the IDWC in Boise following the Frank and Bethine Church Gala in Boise.

The Awards Committee is compromised of the following individuals:

Shirley McFaddan, Chair, Emilie Jackson-Edney,
Betty Murphy,
Cheryl Halverson,

Dottie Stimpson Award

Dottie Stimpson

The Dottie Stimpson Award honors an IDWC member who has demonstrated perseverance, persistence, patience, passion, commitment, and leadership. The award is named for IDWC co-founder Dottie Stimpson. Dottie’s work on behalf of the Democratic Party and the Women’s Caucus has been significant, and in this way, we honor her loyalty, energy, and support. She was a long-time Democratic activist in Washington, D.C., before moving to Idaho in 1990. She was also a former Idaho Democratic National Committee member. In January 2001, the IDWC announced the first annual award in her name.


2018 Kristi Milan 2017 Donna Pence
2016 Rita Haggardt 2015 Shelly Landry
2014 Jeanne Buell (Lifetime Achievement)
2014 Michelle Stennett 2013 Barbara Barber
2012 Tamara Poelstra 2011 Betty Murphy
2010 Carolyn Boyce 2009 Deborah Silver
2008 Barbara Harris 2007 Sally Gasser
2006 Marilyn Howard 2005 Sharon Van Slyke
2004 Angie Neitzel 2003 Lucille Randolph
2002 Molly Lazechko 2001 Virginia Cole

The Young Distinguished Woman Award honors one of our hard-working and committed Young Women who has shown outstanding leadership among her peers over the past year. She must be between the ages of eighteen and thirty-five years of age. Young people are the future of our country and their achievements must be recognized and rewarded.