Western Regional Conference and Meeting

The NFDW Western Regional Conference and Meeting will be held on April 27, 2019 in Portland, Oregon. While the other 3 regions of the NFDW have had yearly events in their regions, I believe this is the first regional event in the west in 4+ years.  This will be a great opportunity for democratic women in this part of the country to take part in workshops, informational sessions and collaborating with others to grow their state organizations in addition to preparing for the 2020 election cycle.

2019 IDWC Meeting Concludes

We would like to thank everyone who took the time out of their busy lives and attended our recent Breakfast Meeting in Boise held last weekend. We had a great turnout filled with both fresh and known faces that are excited to help us get more women into public office.

National Federation of Democratic Women President Susanna French

We had a wonderful keynote speaker, National Federation of Democratic Women President Susanna French, who told us about how far we have come with women in public office and how far we have to go. As long as we rank below Ethiopia, our efforts are still a work in progress. She also informed us that forty-four other states have their statewide Democratic women’s organizations a voting seat on their executive committee while Idaho does not. Remember that women are the backbone of the party and not a “special interest” group.

2019 Dottie Stimpson Award Winner Janie Davidson

Janie Davidson, the current chair of the Blaine County Democrats, is this year’s Dottie Stimpson award winner. She possesses the courage to do what she believes will benefit all Democrats and the well being of the Blaine County Democrats. She is a selfless leader has a very complex volunteer job as chair and dedicates countless hours to helping others in her area. She is this year’s winner due to her selfless leadership and tireless efforts to keep her district blue in the face of unique challenges.

2019 Young Distinguished Woman Award Winner Jessi Boyer

Jessi was elected as Idaho Young Democrats President last year and has done a tremendous job. She has recruited, door knocked, phone banked and trained other volunteers. She does this while raising her daughter, helping her with school and Girl Scouts, and Jessi also creates beautiful jewelry. 
Idaho is lucky to have such a dedicated and talented young woman, who is willing and driven, to share her heart with others. Her actions demonstrate why she was chosen as this year’s Young Distinguished Woman Award winner.

Finally, we would like to thank our new Executive Board Members for their willingness to step up and try to make a difference. Our new Treasurer is Bev Robinson, who was the IDWC Secretary. The new IDWC Secretary is Lee Hendricks from Pocatello, Idaho. The New Region 4 Director is Elle Casner, who recently stepped down as the Idaho Democratic Party’s Executive Director. Region’s 3 Director, Pat Hartwell, was re-elected at the meeting. Region’s 5 Director, Karen Bliss, was also re-elected at the meeting. Region’s 7 Director, Julie Dahlgren, was also re-elected at the meeting. At this point in time, Regions 1 and 2 Director positions are vacant.

A Change in Speaker

Due to an unexpected personal emergency, Tammy Seley Elliott will not be able to serve as our keynote speaker at this year’s annual breakfast meeting. We wish her the best of luck and peace with her issues.

We are excited to announce that Susanna French, the President of the National Federation of Democratic Women, has agreed to serve as our keynote speaker. In 2017, Susanna was elected President after serving as 1st Vice President for two years. She also serves as Emerge KY Board Vice Chair, which trains women to run for office. She is a passionate advocate for women and believes that women have the power to do anything when we come together. When not traveling the country, she is the general manager of Alexander Development – Premier Disaster Restoration and the co-owner of a retail business with her husband, Jamie French.

We look forward to seeing everyone at the breakfast and encourage attendees to buy their tickets online to speed up the check-in process.

2019 IDWC Annual Breakfast Meeting

The Idaho Democratic Women’s Caucus wholeheartedly invite Democratic Women throughout Idaho to our Annual Membership Meeting. The Meeting is on Sunday, March 17, 2019, at 9 am at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, which is located at 1800 Fairview Avenue in Boise. Tickets to the breakfast are $25.00 per person and can be bought on Eventbrite.

We are proud to announce that our featured speaker will be celebrated novelist Tammy Seley Elliott. Tammy is a veteran of the United States Air Force who served her country proudly for almost three decades before retiring in 2011. Tammy recently served on the Collum for Idaho campaign as Chief of Staff and Chief Multi-tasker. There was no task that Tammy did not complete including serving as a human podium at an event. Tammy and her husband currently reside in the Treasure Valley area and have two grown children.

We encourage all Idahoans to join our organization and to work together in electing more Democratic Women to public office. To become a member or renew your existing membership, you must complete the Registration Form and pay the annual membership dues. Annual membership dues are $20. Seniors (65 and older) and students can join for $10. Members are encouraged to attend and participate in the breakfast meeting as we will be electing the IDWC Secretary and Treasurer along with Regional Directors for regions 1, 2, 3, and 7.

Although our annual membership meeting centers on enjoying a great breakfast and discussion, the agenda also includes the election of individuals to the above aforementioned vacant IDWC leadership positions. Therefore, we encourage our members to stand for election. Consequently, if you wish to be considered for an open position, please submit your name and a summary of your qualifications to Gini Ballou. If you seek to hold a Regional position, please include the region. Region information is available on our Officer page.

Additionally, don’t forget that we are seeking nominees for the Dottie Stimpson and the Distinguished Woman awards. The Stimpson award honors an IDWC member who demonstrates perseverance, persistence, patience, passion, commitment, and leadership. IDWC co-founder Dottie Stimpson inspired the award. The Distinguish Woman award, on the other hand, is a way for us to recognize the contributions of rising star. You can submit a nominee by filling out the online Nomination Form or submit the nomination details in an e-mail to our Awards Committee Chair: Shirley McFaddan. All nominees must be active IDWC Members. Submissions are due by February 15.

For more information about this event, please contact our organization by via email at idahodwc@gmail.com or find us on Facebook.