Rita Haggardt receives a Community Service award

The following article was published in the Idaho State Journal on April 20, 2018:

Pictured left to right: Marilyn Hensen, president of AARP local chapter 288, Rita Demopoulous Haggardt, award recipient, and Stan Cope, local president of Southeast Idaho Retired Educators.
POCATELLO — The AARP is delighted to recognize Ms. Rita Demopoulous Haggardt with the Community Service Award for all she has done in her community over the past years.

Her efforts have enriched the lives of friends and neighbors and made our community a better place to live.

Every year, as part of the National Volunteer Week, which falls on April 15 to 21, the AARP joins organizations and communities across the country in recognizing exemplary volunteers who serve their fellow citizens in countless ways every day.

The AARP owes much to our local chapter and the Retired Educator’s Association of Idaho volunteers, whose dedication and service make us a great organization.

The following is a list of Rita’s volunteer and organizations that she serves in:

  • Girl Scouts volunteer and NAACP member
  • Pocatello American Association of University Women, 1977 to present
  • League of Women Voters, various positions and committees
  • Zonta, many offices and Past president
  • Bannock Kiwanis Club, various offices
  • American legion Auxiliary, student essay committee chair
  • Pocatello Education Association, various offices and Past president
  • ISU College of Education student teacher adviser for 13 years
  • Fourth-grade teacher at Syringe Elementary for 32 years
  • Alpha Omicron Pi Society, current President
  • Southeast Idaho United Way, volunteer
  • Trinity Episcopal Church, various boards
  • Pocatello neighborhood Watch board, past President
  • Feeding the 5,000 campaign, executive board and past Chair
  • Pocatello Chiefs, chamber member and education committee
  • Delta Kappa Gamma, various office and state level
  • Southeast Idaho Retired Teachers, member and various committees
  • I Love ISU calling campaign, several years
  • Active Scholarship endowment, ISU College of Education
  • Idaho Democratic Women’s Caucus, member

The link to the original article is here. As a reminder, Rita Haggardt is also a 2016 Dottie Stimpson Award winner.